PerCom 2013


Workshop Call For Papers


Mar 18-22, 2013





IEEE PerCom 2013 - Its First International Workshop on Cognitive Computing and Communications (CCC 2013)

At IEEE PerCom 2013 - March 18-22, San Diego, CA, USA

            "Cognitive" design has become one of the most important features in pervasive computing fields. Typically it is based on the utilization of machine learning and artificial intelligence algorithms. Today, the sensors have been designed with smart, compressive sampling in order to reduce sensor samples even before reaching the CPU processing phase; the sensor networks have been made highly intelligent through the use of distributed machine learning mechanisms; the wireless networks have been made cognitive through cognitive radios; and many other examples.

            This international workshop is part of IEEE Percom 2013. It aims to bring the researchers together to exchange ideas on cognitive computing and communications (C3). We emphasize the pervasive computing applications of C3 for cognitive radios, biomedical systems, structure health monitoring, smart grid, robots, GENI, and other systems. The workshop will include around 15 presentations, posters, demos, and other research activities.

            The papers submitted to this workshop can be about any of the following topics:

·         Cognitive sensing: Smart sensors, compressive sensing, special sampling, and others.

·         Cognitive computing: Machine learning for signal pattern analysis, advanced signal processing for sensor data processing, artificial intelligence for cyber-physical interactions, and others;

·         Cognitive communications and networking: Cognitive radios and software radios, intelligent sensor networks, social network behavioral analysis,  GENI and next-generation Internet, etc.

·         C3 for PerCom applications. This includes all types of pervasive computing systems such as wireless and mobile platforms, distributed embedded systems, sensor and actor networks, etc.

All papers will be managed electronically through EDAS. The paper submission website is: . Login and find "CCC 2013" and submit your paper..

Submitted papers will undergo a rigorous and double-blind review process handled by the Technical Program Committee. Authors' names must not appear in the paper. Camera-ready versions of accepted papers will be limited to 6 pages in IEEE 8.5x11 conference format, and formatted in accordance with the IEEE Computer Society author guidelines. The IEEE LaTeX and Microsoft Word templates, as well as information for formatting the manuscript can be found here.

Important Dates

Paper Submission:              December 20, 2012
Acceptance Notification:    January 15, 2013
Camera-Ready Due:            January 25, 2013

Workshop Co-Chairs

Fei Hu, The University of Alabama, USA
Sunil Kumar, San Diego State University, USA


TPC Members:


Dr. Abdur Rahim , @ (currently working at) (Note: This is not an email address; it means the affiliation)
Dr. Adrian Popescu ,
Dr. Al-Dubai, Ahmed ,
Dr. Anwer Al-Dulaimi ,
Dr. Arslan, Huseyin ,
Dr. Bala Natarajan ,
Dr. Baoyu Zhen ,
Dr. Berk Canberk ,
Dr. Bilal Babayigit ,
Dr. Caleb zhang , Xi'dian University
Dr. Cavalcanti, Dave ,
Dr. Chang-Joo Kim ,
Dr. Chen Tao ,
Dr. Chen, Zengmao ,
Dr. Chonggang Wang ,
Dr. Christos Verikoukis ,
Dr. Dusit Niyato ,
Dr. Eduard Jorswieck ,
Dr. Haewoon Nam , Motorola Inc.
Dr. Hao Chen ,
Dr. Hassen Alsafi , International Islamic University Malaysia
Dr. Hitoshi Yoshino ,
Dr. Husheng Li
Dr. Ignacio Santamaría ,
Dr. Ivana Maric ,
Dr. Kandeepan Sithaparanathan ,
Dr. Kazuto Yano , Advanced Telecommunications Research Institute International (ATR), Japan
Dr. Kei Sakaguchi ,
Dr. Klaus Moessner ,
Dr. Lawrence WC Wong ,
Dr. Liaoyuan Zeng ,
Dr. Liljana Gavrilovska ,
Dr. Matthieu Gautier ,
Dr. Pavel Loskot ,
Dr. Petri Mähönen ,
Dr. Pramod Varshney ,
Dr. Qi Zhang ,
Dr. Ranga Rao Venkatesha Prasad ,
Dr. S. Yoon ,
Dr. Saad, Walid ,
Dr. Seiichi Sampei ,
Dr. Sema F. OKTUG ,
Dr. Shamik Sengupta ,
Dr. Shin-Ming Cheng ,
Dr. Shono, Takashi ,
Dr. Pengbo Si ,
Dr. Subhrakanti Dey ,
Dr. Takeo Fujii ,
Dr. Thomas Haustein ,
Dr. Thomas Kaiser ,
Dr. Thomas Lagkas ,
Dr. Tomohiko Taniguchi ,
Dr. Tony Quek ,
Dr. Toshiaki Koike-Akino ,
Dr. Victor Leung ,
Dr. Weng Chon Ao ,
Dr. Wong Tung Chong ,
Dr. Xiaoying Gan ,
Dr. Yakim Mihov ,
Dr. Yoshitaka Hara ,
Dr. Yulei Wu ,
Dr. Zeng Yonghong ,